Chatbase AI and ChatSimple AI are both platforms for building AI agents that talk to website visitors, but they emphasize different jobs. Chatbase (chatbase.co, by Chatbase Inc.) is a platform for building and deploying AI agents for customer support, sales, and product guidance, trained on a business’s own documents and data, deployable across web, Slack, WhatsApp, and Messenger. ChatSimple (chatsimple.ai, now officially branded Expertise AI) is an enterprise AI-agent platform focused on sales and customer experience, with agents that engage visitors via chat, voice, and phone — including AI outbound calling.
The table below compares the two on facts drawn from their official sites. For the directory entries, see View the Chatbase AI profile and View the ChatSimple AI profile; for the tool category, see the AI Agents category page.
| Aspect | Chatbase AI | ChatSimple AI |
|---|---|---|
| What it does | Platform for building and deploying AI agents for customer support, sales, and product guidance, trained on the business’s own data | Enterprise AI-agent platform for sales and customer experience: Sales, CX, and Custom agents across chat, voice, and phone |
| Platforms | Web (dashboard + embed), Slack, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram; API access | Web (website embed chat widget), voice and phone channels |
| Key features | Train agents on own documents (10/20/40 MB caps by plan), AI Actions, voice support, 20+ integrations (Stripe, Zendesk, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, WordPress), auto-recharge credits | Three agent types (Sales/CX/Custom), AI outbound calling, 175+ languages, plain-language workflow definitions, approvals and human review, forward deployment, dedicated VPS and data residency options |
| Company | Chatbase Inc. (stated in official Terms of Service) | Not stated on official pages (Terms say operated by expertise.ai) |
| Pricing | Freemium; Hobby / Standard / Pro plans metered by monthly message credits (700 / 4,000 / 15,000) plus custom Enterprise. Exact dollar prices not stated on the official pricing page text | Quote-based; Premier / Enterprise / Unlimited tiers with “Book a demo” CTAs. No prices published |
| Free plan | Yes — “Free Version” confirmed in Terms of Service §5.1 | Not advertised on official pages |
| Data & security | GDPR, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA-capable; customer data not used to train models; zero-data-retention policy on HIPAA accounts | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA; Enterprise SSO (SAML 2.0 + SCIM); observability via logs, analytics, alerts |
| Best fits | Teams wanting trainable agents with broad channel and integration coverage | Enterprise sales/CX teams needing voice calling, governance controls, and private infrastructure |
Both tools ship with their own prompt collections — Chatbase AI Prompts and ChatSimple AI Prompts — and both are listed under AI Agents.
