Skip to content
Submit Tool

Chatbase AI vs ChatSimple AI

Published

Chatbase AI and ChatSimple AI are both platforms for building AI agents that talk to website visitors, but they emphasize different jobs. Chatbase (chatbase.co, by Chatbase Inc.) is a platform for building and deploying AI agents for customer support, sales, and product guidance, trained on a business’s own documents and data, deployable across web, Slack, WhatsApp, and Messenger. ChatSimple (chatsimple.ai, now officially branded Expertise AI) is an enterprise AI-agent platform focused on sales and customer experience, with agents that engage visitors via chat, voice, and phone — including AI outbound calling.

The table below compares the two on facts drawn from their official sites. For the directory entries, see View the Chatbase AI profile and View the ChatSimple AI profile; for the tool category, see the AI Agents category page.

AspectChatbase AIChatSimple AI
What it doesPlatform for building and deploying AI agents for customer support, sales, and product guidance, trained on the business’s own dataEnterprise AI-agent platform for sales and customer experience: Sales, CX, and Custom agents across chat, voice, and phone
PlatformsWeb (dashboard + embed), Slack, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram; API accessWeb (website embed chat widget), voice and phone channels
Key featuresTrain agents on own documents (10/20/40 MB caps by plan), AI Actions, voice support, 20+ integrations (Stripe, Zendesk, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, WordPress), auto-recharge creditsThree agent types (Sales/CX/Custom), AI outbound calling, 175+ languages, plain-language workflow definitions, approvals and human review, forward deployment, dedicated VPS and data residency options
CompanyChatbase Inc. (stated in official Terms of Service)Not stated on official pages (Terms say operated by expertise.ai)
PricingFreemium; Hobby / Standard / Pro plans metered by monthly message credits (700 / 4,000 / 15,000) plus custom Enterprise. Exact dollar prices not stated on the official pricing page textQuote-based; Premier / Enterprise / Unlimited tiers with “Book a demo” CTAs. No prices published
Free planYes — “Free Version” confirmed in Terms of Service §5.1Not advertised on official pages
Data & securityGDPR, SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA-capable; customer data not used to train models; zero-data-retention policy on HIPAA accountsSOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA; Enterprise SSO (SAML 2.0 + SCIM); observability via logs, analytics, alerts
Best fitsTeams wanting trainable agents with broad channel and integration coverageEnterprise sales/CX teams needing voice calling, governance controls, and private infrastructure

Both tools ship with their own prompt collections — Chatbase AI Prompts and ChatSimple AI Prompts — and both are listed under AI Agents.